Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Lookin for a freeride bike. Any suggestions???

925 views 20 replies 17 participants last post by  oldskoolbiker 
#1 · (Edited)
I'm new to the whole mountain bike world but some motocross buddies have gotten bikes to help with training. They have XC bikes and say they wish they would've gotten a more freeride type of bike.

I want something I can mash around on on the downhill and jump, but still be able to pedal without completely killing myself if I need too. I'm in Reno, NV so Lake Tahoe is in my backyard. I want something with around 7" of travel. What should I look for as far as components go? Do you recommend building a bike from frame up or buying a complete bike? I wanna spend around 2,500 - 3,500 is this a reasonable price range for a decent bike? I don't need the best of the best but don't want crap that I'm going to have to replace right away either.

Bikes I've been looking at are the KHS Lucky 7, Iron Horse 7 point, and the Specialized BigHit FSR2. Any feedback would be great or if you guys have any other suggestions let me know.

Thanks

#2 ·
Don't do the Big hit, go with a SX trail instead. You can find them on ebay or for about the max you want to spend you can get the 09 SX trail 1. It has been my experience that unless you are a 120 pound kid that can pedal anything because you don't know any better, the big hit does not like going uphill.

#3 ·