Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Painting frame stone

2K views 33 replies 19 participants last post by  BloodyRoots 
#1 ·
So I'm going to be painting my bike "stone". I'm gona be trying to convert the bike to a more freestyle/DH type bike (since it's allready heavy as hell) and I can't be having it this fru fru blue color. Can the marzocchi drop off dual crown fork handle some good stuff? Jr T? Or should i fork over the change and get a 888?

will keep you guys updated on progress.

See less See more
#4 ·
haha thanks for the heads up. I can tig, was thinking about adding supports.. but will prolly be easier to just get a new frame huh? Think it will at least look good?
Keep in mind, i am a beginner at downhill.. so i will not do any crazy/fast stuff.. just some ~10 ft drops and small hills here and there with this bike... i'm nooby

#5 ·
BloodyRoots said:
haha thanks for the heads up. I can tig, was thinking about adding supports.. but will prolly be easier to just get a new frame huh? Think it will at least look good?
Keep in mind, i am a beginner at downhill.. so i will not do any crazy/fast stuff.. just some ~10 ft drops and small hills here and there with this bike... i'm nooby
get a new frame....that haro frame already looks 'stoned'...:eekster:

#6 ·
Jr T and DOT are both crap with SSV/SSVF damping. They're practically the same. They lack adjustability and spike over the fast rough stuff.

The generation of the Extreme after that one (with the hydroformed tubes) was actually pretty burly. This one does not inspire confidence though.

#7 ·
hey guys, allready found some frames on pinkbike.com Looking at some Spec bighit frames for pretty good price. Sucks, gotta take money out of the vette fund :(

Thanks for potentially saving my life.

#8 ·
BloodyRoots said:
tig welding supports will actually weaken the bike...it will then need to be heat treated....if you don't do that then don't bother