Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

where to start in upgrading stock trance x3?

1K views 22 replies 12 participants last post by  happybrandon 
#1 ·
so im starting with a bone stock 09 giant trance x3. ill post a link at the bottom. what are your recommendations for beginning mods? looking at all the components, what would you all replace first? Im new to biking, but like my motorcycle, its an addicting sport. I want to make it a little more unique and want to know where to begin. this is the beginners forum right?

I know the first things to go on most peoples bikes are the grips and seat. ive already put on some thicker grips for my huge hands and neoprene wrap for chain slap. Ideally Id like to know which components are worth keeping on till it breaks, and which ones are worth changing out now. also, what seats are worth looking at?

thanks

#3 ·
It looks like it's already a nice bike. Unless something is uncomfortable or doesn't match your riding style, why not treat everything on an upgrade when it breaks basis?

The only upgrade I've done that has made a significant change in the handling of the bike was getting a nicer fork. But it looks like you have as nice a fork as they come. Everything else I've upgraded as a result of it breaking (pedals, brakes, crankset)

#5 ·
The only real reason to upgrade components is because they are either not good enough to do what you want (they're going to break) or they are holding your riding back.

You seem to just want to upgrade because you can.

I can't really suggest anything because we don't even know what the riding you want to do is.

Do I suggest you change the wheels to an ultralight racing set to make the bike faster (you will have to ride "light"or risk damaging them) OR do you put on a beefier set of wheels because you are either a "heavier" rider or just like to bang into every sharp rock on the trail?