Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

upgrade old parts ?

649 views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  momoe 
#1 ·
I have an older GT. it has the shimano. exage brakes and sprockets and stuff. would upgrading all of that to a better quality give me an easier ride? I mean for hills and more difficult rides, will it make it easier with a better set of gears? i may be using the wrong terms for some of this but hey, I'm new to the sport

thanks

#2 ·
Smaller gears in the front and Larger in the back will make it easier to pedal but it reach a point where the gearing is so low that you can't maintain balance at that speed.... To be honest it'd probably be best to save up for a newer bike rather than dump a whole lot into an older one. The cost to performance benefit wouldn't be worth it. For now I suggest toughing it out, ride it the best you can, replace what you break and most importantly have fun.

#3 ·
Upgrading derailleurs will give you minimal change.

I'm going to go ahead and say it, unless your racing and you NEED your derailleurs to perform at their best and give you weight savings anything above a deore is honestly in my opinion money pissed away. I have saint drive trains on my XC and (until it got stolen) DH bike. That's because I wanted the best weight/performance I could get. The price was high, but I felt like I NEEDED these things, and honestly they've proven quite useful for their given applications. My AM bike uses Deore XT and nothing above that. That's because it does what I need it to do and performs well for the price I paid and for what I ask of it.