Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

How do you get so far back from your seat? Techniques?

1K views 24 replies 15 participants last post by  xenon 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm still a beginner so please be patient, but I am having problems with getting really far back from my seat when I go down somewhere steep or off a ledge.

It always seems as if my crotch is only to the back of the seat, unlike some pics where I see the seat at some people's chest...

Do you think my seat is too high? When I try doing it just riding on flats to practice, I can't seem to get far back...

Any inputs? Thanks again!

Julian

#4 ·
Somewhat depends on how you fit your bike, but basically you slide your butt back beyond the rear of the seat and over the rear wheel, thus putting your torso over the seat. Lowering the seat for descents would help make this easier (but won't help for normal pedaling, one of the great advantages of a gravity dropper or similar seat post).

#5 ·
Thanks for the replies. They all make sense. Now what about the handlebars? Are you pulling on it a lot or is your body stable enough just to be holding onto it? This is what I mean:

o = my handlebar

-> = motion of force applied to handlebar

[--] = my seat

(__i__) = My butt

o ----> [--] (__i__)

Are you supposed to be pulling the handlebar like this to stablize yourself?

Thanks and sorry for the rudimentary diagram..

#6 ·
Yeah, you usually end up pulling back on the handlebar some. The lower your upper body is the less you will pull on the bars, but the better the odds of getting the wind knocked out of you by your seat.:eek: It happens to everyone I think. make sure you keep your pedals level until you get back in front of the seat or you will get stuck back there.

#8 ·