Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Sandbagging and possuming?

1K views 22 replies 19 participants last post by  jayjudy13 
#1 ·
What is sandbagging? (in a race context)
What is possuming? (also in a race context)

I was wondering because I was accused of both these things after a race. It was my first race ever and I happened to win. I didn't tell anyone it was my first race. One person accused me of sandbagging (that seemed to have a negative connotation). Another person accused me of possuming (and I couldn't really make out whether he meant it as negative or not).

For most of the race, I paced myself, realizing that I would need my "afterburners" for the end of the race (can you tell I'm new to this?). About 7/8ths of the way through the race, I poured on my hardest sprinting effort which ended up giving me a lead. Isn't this what you are supposed to do? Did I upset someone with this strategy? Did they feel I was dishonest? Did I do something wrong?

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks.

#2 ·
I've never heard of possuming...but I assume it means to 'play-dead' possibly referring to your pacing then sudden sprint at the end. (i don't necessarily think it's a 'bad' thing)
Sandbagging is when you enter in a division lower than your ability. Since this was your first race ever, I wouldn't worry about it, as you had no basis as to which division you should compete in.
If you enter another race and you take first again (by alot)...time to move up

#8 ·
JAKEEFER said:
So, let me get this right? He's Sandbagging because he's winning and his success should be penalized by immediately moving up a class? Even though he had to sprint for the win? If it was a walk off, nobody close victory, that'd be different.
I think it is assumed it was a walk off no one close

#10 ·
JAKEEFER said: