Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Worth upgrading?

995 views 21 replies 11 participants last post by  baraant 
#1 ·
I'm really new to this sport, I just bought a Rockhopper comp disc about three and a half months ago that I've put about three hundred miles on so far.
The bike is the M4 aluminum frame with the Tora 318 fork, decent rims that are strong and light (Sun DS2XC) But the dérailleurs and shifters are mid grade Shimano, Deore shifters and Deore front der, LX rear der. I hate the way the thing shifts, at first I thought it was just me but now I've ridden a couple other bikes and a friend rode mine and we've decided it's not me. I bent the front dérailleur in a crash the other day so I've got an XT on order, but talking to the shop mechanic he was kinda trying to steer me away from upgrading the rest and more towards a better bike saying by the time I finished upgrading a better bike might be more cost efficient.
Is he right? Or is he just trying to sell another bike? It seems to me the Rockhopper is worth dumping another 5 or 6 hundred bucks into for better shifters and dérailleurs, what do you guys think?

#2 ·
I think the guy at the LBS is trying to get more commission money. I would say it is definitely worth upgrading the parts and not the bike.....for f*cks sake you just got into the sport and are still learning. I am new to this sport too and am learning a lot from reading, riding and talking to other mtb'ers.

#3 ·
Your bike is a good one, so yes. BUT don't upgrade the parts unless they break. Overall, getting a new component set by buying a new bike is the cheapest way to do it, but it doesn't sound like you need it. Just get your shifters and derailers tuned and adjusted. Deore shifters matched to Deore/LX/XT derails are perfectly fine. You won't gain a lot by upgrading shifters. Just get everything properly adjusted. It's difficult, but doable.

#4 ·
A couple of questions....

ChuckO said: