Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

down hill shock?

519 views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  Mwehahaha 
#1 ·
Hello, everyone please dont kil me for this question....

witch shock is better for DH

1. Fox DHX 5.0
0r
2. Fox DHX

i want to get the DHX 5.0 but my friend tells me that the coil one is better. im kinda new to downhill riding so i dont know what to get.

sorry for the double post.

#2 ·
You mean... DHX Air vs DHX Coil?
The DHX Air has no mid-range stroke support... So, it kinda eats travel really fast.
The Air shock is also progressive, versus the DHX coils' linear.
Basically, the DHX Coil blows away the DHX Air, in almost all tests.
But if you really wanted an air shock, look into the Manitou ISX-6 Evolver with Intristic Damping. It's the best downhill air shock on the market, as of now.

#3 ·
The Fox DHX 5.0 is either coil or air. That said, your body weight and riding style should dictate what shock you get. Heavy set, hard freeriding, long long rough runs = coil. Lighter rider, lighter riding, etc.. go for the air.

#7 ·
im upgrading my old giant VT 2 my friend got into DH and i thought i would join him. so far i have bought some manitou 170mm shermans, oversized stem+handlebar kit and some bomshell fatdaddy wheels. im looking to upgrade my rear shock from the stock manitou swinger 3 way SPV. this is a great forum wish i had found it before i bought the other stuff to get some quaility info.

so far im thinking of getting either

1. manitou isx
2. fox dhx 5.0 coil

im leaning more towards the coil one since im 6' 2" around 190 - 200

#8 ·
The one great thing about the air shocks is... You can carry the shock pump and adjust the PSI on the fly. But, same goes with the coil, just dial up the compression and you're fine.. But hey, whatever floats your boat.
Also, like trailadvent said, the Roco and Roco TST are both very nice Marzocchi shocks.