Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

taking DH tires off a DH rim

883 views 23 replies 16 participants last post by  elohttub 
#1 ·
All i can say is wow, an hour of my life and countless scrapes and cusses later.....never switching tires again....

#4 ·
If you work the bead into the center of the rim all the way around before you pop it off in one spot it's a LOT easier. I can always do it with my hands. I haven't carried a tire iron in years, even for tubeless and road bike tires. I worked in a shop for about a year and did this on every tire. I've tried combos that people complain about being extremely tight and have never had a problem.

#6 ·
yeah, i had the knife out at one point. def helped after i made sure the bead wasn't sticking to the rim....now i need to figure out why my cranks creake.....old cranks or old BB...either way its $$$ i dont have, any suggestions on stopping creaky cranks, maybe a nice white grease bath on spindle arms?

#17 ·
;aldksjfalk;sdfj

Get these: http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/11...s/Park-TL-5-Heavy-Duty-Tire-Lever-Set-(2).htm
Taking DH/FR tires off was the most frustrating thing in the world until I got these. Screw technique, and plastic, and blah blah blah. With these you never have to think twice about it. No exaggeration, they take no effort at all. And they can scratch your rims if you are not intelligent enough to put something behind them. If you are really smart you will superglue a piece of rubber on the side that touches your rim.

#18 ·
Park DH Tire Levers.
After ruining my hands trying to wrestle a Kenda Blue Groove tire onto a Mag 30 Rim, no prob with the Park levers.

Just be careful you don't pinch the tube.
To those who can wrestle them on with just their bare hands - I salute you.
Who cares about scratching your rims? It ain't a car show.

#21 ·