Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Five.Ten Impacts

2K views 47 replies 25 participants last post by  DeepSouthBuilder 
#1 ·
I was wondering if anyone has had any luck with the Five.Ten Impacts. I've been riding clipless for several years now, but want to switch to platforms for doing tricks and being able to bail easier in mid jump. So, does anyone have an opinion on them?

#10 ·
They arent a hiking or climbing shoe; also not a kayak/water shoe.

They're made by a climbing/water shoe company, but are not an adaptation of their other models. They dont market it for any other segment. There IS another shoe they make that some like to ride in that is marketed as a cross purpose shoe.

What were they made for?

#11 ·
They were originally a climbing "approach" shoe. They were outdated for that use about the time Five.Ten sold rubber to Intense for tires. So they took advantage of the opportunity and changed the color to make them more "aggro" and quit marketing them to climbers. The original bike version was the Intense team shoe in a red color-scheme (I have a pair). If you look really hard there are some neon yellow and green pairs out there that were around 8-9 years before they ever considered using them for bikes.

#12 ·
They may have been inspired by the Approach, but the production Intense shoes, and the Impacts are unique designs produced specifically for riding.

They were not repurposed or rebadged Approach's!

5.10 makes a variety of shoes, others are used 'out of purpose' and they have the tennie which I know some riders like due to the firmer compound.

#14 · (Edited)