Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

31.8 Handlebars?

1K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  tmb 
#1 ·
Whose's made the jump to over-sized bars? And how much of a diff was there?

I'm thinking about swapping out my Titec Hellbents, the ano blue just looks like ass on the flat black Zion frame. Looking at Bonty's Crowbars or something from Race Face.

T

#2 ·
I've got 31.8mm carbon riser bars and can't tell any difference to any other bar. But something to consider is that some accessories wont fit on the o/s bar. The mount on my off road lights doesn't fit near the middle where I want it, have to mount it up near the brake lever. Also need the new stem to go with the bars so can be a costly exercise.

#5 ·
tmb said:
Whose's made the jump to over-sized bars? And how much of a diff was there?
went big on the new Niner. I'm using their wide 31.8 flat bar, so it's my first time with OS and a return to flats since back in the day. I don't mind the flat bar, after swearing by risers for so long but the OS interface doesn't make any tangible diff that I can tell. I think it has more significance for the hucking crowd, maybe not so much for us XC weiners.

Maybe it's just a way to sell more stuff ;) The OS Thomson stem is pretty though, that's how they get ya.

#6 ·
My SS came with the Thomson X4 and a bar I wasn't too keen on so I swapped it to the Easton EA70 riser. My other bike has the standard Thomson with the Easton riser. No big difference in how the bar feels.
I'd say go with what fits you and works with your 'bling' needs.

#8 ·
I thought that the o/s set-up might be helpful w/ the yanking on the bars that we do on the SS's, but if it's not a noticable difference then I won't spend the money.

I knew I could count on getting the straight poop here. This is a good community to be a part of.

Thanks guys

T

#9 ·
tmb said: