Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

To go 24" or not to go 24"

765 views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  AKRida 
#1 ·
This is but a simple delema.
I'm a huge Mavic fan, considering I've been riding NorthShore style with one of there XC models and I only had to true them once, and I was planning to put the D321's on my new Morphine. But I became very curious to see what it would be like to go 24" in the rear ever since my lbs set my bike up with a 24 double track so I could see what it was like. It felt kinda cool. But i'm amprehensive to give up the Mavics (who do not make a 24") for the sun double tracks just so I can try out the 24" set-up(which I've never done).
So what do you guys think? Should I give up the Mavic d321 and go with the double track for the 24" set-up, are the sun rims a good trade off? Or should i stick with the Mavics and go dual 26".
i have no experience with the 24 rear so I can't go with personal preference here, it's just curiousity.

#3 ·
I think that the deal of 24" is that they are supoust to be stronger but I have also D321 and man those rims are unbrakebles ...so I don't find the need to go from the D321 to 24" unless there is another reason that I don't know....

BTW... THere is another reason that I don't know..?

#4 ·
The only reason to go 24" is to slack out your headtube angle and lower BB height. I was surprised about how much a 24" slacked out the headtube angle on my bike. It took it from 68 to 66 degrees (with skinny rear tire mounted on it).

#5 ·
i got a 24 on the rear of my banshee scream and would like a 26 on the rear instead, the rim is off my old bike i put it on for the additional strength after i blew out 7 spokes and the shock on my old bike :) it accelerates faster, but seems to hold less speed and drops the BB on my bike more than i'd like, also adds more rake.