Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Looks like i wont be riding for awhile...

2K views 26 replies 23 participants last post by  standard235 
#1 · (Edited)
on wednesday, i went down hard off of my skateboard. i was bombing a hill on a longboard, and my wheels slid out and caught toeside, so i flew facefirst into the asphalt going at least 25mph.the result was a compound fracture of both bones in my left arm. my doctor fixed it up with two steel plates and 11 screws, as well as a few staples for the skin. never would have happened if i was on a bike. here are the x-rays:

Attachments

See less See more
#11 ·
I can almost feel your pain, but I never needed surgery, just a bunch of ER visits. I used to be a pro skater back in the 80's and the damage it did to my arms and legs, especially my knees, brought me back to bikes. Now I ride for "rehab" purposes only.....as far as my wife knows.

I hope that everything works out perfectly for you, as I have never needed a screw per se. and I am still screwed up (pun somewhat intended) from that four wheeled demon, but the feeling of the flow and trying a new trick and sticking it for the first time after about 1000 try's is something special. Aaaahhhhh.........good times.

Get well soon, and whatever you do, dont f#ck up and push it too soon.

#12 ·
Bro I feel for ya... last year I took a fall on my skate (a pathetic one I might add...) I spiral fractured my Tibia ( leg bone) and was in a cast for 1...2...3...4...5...6..7 months rehab was a *****...

So I hope that everything goes smooth for ya and you get back on your bike as soon as possible

I feel for ya brother

#14 ·
Great, now what am I going to do?

jamie said:
Ah the skateboard days. There was only so much I could take of a rock stopping you with no notice. Hope you get better soon. Could have been worse though. In the summer of 05 a 17 year old girl about 1 hour north of my town was riding her skateboard like she did everyday, she fell hit her head and died!