Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Building SS XC Race Bike - Need Advice

3K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  834905 
#1 ·
Hi there, I'm looking to build a single speed xc race bike to get back into mtbing again. I've raced and ridden xc for a while but I'm new to ss. I'd appreciate some advice on some part selections.

Frame - My only real criteria are light weight, modern xc geo with a 100m fork, and preferably boost but I can live with 142 spacing. I'd also like geo built around 29 x 2.0-2.2 tires.

The are lots of frames that are close like the Karate Monkey, or Timberjack, but most of these tend to be on the heavier and more trail oriented side. Vassago's offerings are probably the closest to what I'm looking for but they never have any stock and their customer service is terrible.

Hubs - Do people prefer threaded track style hubs or splined hubs and cogs? I'm looking mostly at the Paul and Onyx hubs because they have boost spacing. I'm assuming that the biggest drawback of the Paul hubs is that you need to buy the $80 White freewheels? The Onyx hubs seem to have the best reviews but $600 Canadian dollars is a beat steep for just a rear hub.

#2 ·
I'm assuming that the biggest drawback of the Paul hubs is that you need to buy the $80 White freewheels? The Onyx hubs seem to have the best reviews but $600 Canadian dollars is a beat steep for just a rear hub.
no.you don't have to use white industry freewheel with the Paul hub. I used a cheap freewheel for a few cross race last season. IT works, but not as cool.

#3 ·
Budget?

Carver 420 Ti would be my first choice. A used Kona Raijin would be a very close second (can be hard to find).

Niner Air 9 Rdo, Pivot Les, Ibis Tranny, there's lots of fancy carbon options.

Not many steel XC frames left. So many have been discontinued, it's sad.

Hubs: Hope SS hub is affordable and available in any configuration if you don't mind the noise. I have one, can't beat it for the money, but it's LOUD.