mtbr member

Worth upgrading my RP2?

Hi all,
    I am considering upgrading my RP2 shock. I have little experience riding other shocks so don't know if it will be worth it. I am about to put a marzocchi 55 micro ti fork on the front and am now considering a roco air LO DC or a roco air tst r for the rear. I originally wanted to get a monarch plus some day but have found a couple of cheap roco's for sale.
    Can anyone let me know what changes I would feel going to either of these from a RP2. How do they compare?
    I ride a diamondback mission and have started riding faster and am now hitting a few bigger features so I grabbed a 160mm fork to replace my revelation and am thinking about a shock upgrade as well. What do you guy's think?
    Thanks
    pow77
    'keep the mission alive!'

Elitest thrill junkie
    You'd be far better off to send your shock to Push to get it revalved. They'll gut the stock piston, put in a better higher-flowing one, custom-valve it so you can have decent low-speed damping without making the bike a jack-hammer, it will work much better and transform the feel. Unless one is going to spring for a Cane Creek DB Air or Vivid Air (actually tunable shocks), it's not really worth it to spring for another shock that's given a "one size fits all" tune.
    "It's only when you stand over it, you know, when you physically stand over the bike, that then you say 'hey, I don't have much stand over height', you know"-T. Ellsworth

You're turning black metallic.

mtbr member
    Does Push do tunes on shocks for people like me and the OP who live on the far side of the world though? Australia and NZ are a little short on shock tuners with the reputation of Push. I've got a RP2 as well, and have also wondered about whether to keep it or upgrade to something else.
    I don't crash, I just have slightly uncontrolled dismounts!

mtbr member