What shocks for a SC Superlight for XC and trail riding?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2008

What shocks for a SC Superlight for XC and trail riding?

I am looking to upgrade my shocks on my 2007 Santa Cruz Superlight. I want a fork and rear shock. Right now I have a Fox Float R rear and a Fox 32 100 R front. My main problem is that it is just not enjoyable to climb. The bike does not have pro pedal or a lockout.

What would you all recommend? This is my first time upgrading any suspension so I am a newb at what to get. I know the fork can only go to 100mm and I was thinking about trying to find a RP23 for the rear shock. My budget is about $600.

Right now I am racing my singlespeed Gunnar, but I want to have a geared XC bike as well. I love the remote lockout on my SS and miss it a ton when riding the Superlight. With all the ups and downs here in Nevada the Superlight feels like a pig.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    It is gonna be hard to get both for the price you mentioned. More along the lines of 700-800$ for a system which lasts and offers the things you mentioned. A good rear damper is gonna run 300-400$ alone then looking at a good fork about 500+ and up.

Big Gulps, Alright!
    Ehh, it can be done for $600. Look on the classifieds. RP23s can be picked up for 200-250 and forks for ~300-400.

I'd stick with the F100 though. You can't do much better in the 100mm range. You could get it Pushed (http://www.pushindustries.com/2009/i...product_id=29). That would be a worthy improvement.

Figure 165-200 for a rebuild on your fork and 200-250 for an RP23 and you're under your budget by ~$150.
    Axle Standards Explained

Founder at North Atlantic Dirt, riding & writing about trails in the northeast.

Bicyclochondriac.
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Sb.Reno