what rear shock for 05 big hit- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005

what rear shock for 05 big hit

I wanna upgrade my rear shock on my big hit but im pretty new to this and I dont know what im lookin for really, it has a fox vinalla r. I would like to get alittle more traveland perfromace, I just got a 88 fro the front and i would liek to match with a nice rear shock, are the marzocchi rocko any good?

Jun 2003

What Big Hit?

Is it the single pivot model?

THe ROCO is a brand new design. I try to stay away from being a beta tester.

What is your budget, riding style, and weight?

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    nope its a fsr, so its multi point, I ride jsut about everthing, trails, dh, urban, drops...I am about 200lbs. but im plannin on loosin weight to 170ish...also do I have to get the same size shock thats on it now, I mean do I have to get a shock in 70mm [2.75"] 222mm [8.75"] or could I go bigger I would like to get more travel but not a ton. thanx for the help im pretty new to this.

Chillin the Most
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Func413
    do I have to get the same size shock thats on it now, I mean do I have to get a shock in 70mm [2.75"] 222mm [8.75"] or could I go bigger I would like to get more travel but not a ton. thanx for the help im pretty new to this.
    I would highly advise against changing the shock length as it will alter your geometry in a bad way.

I would look into getting a Fox DHX or Swinger.

If you have an older model Big Hit (like the 02 DH) and the fundage, check out Avalanche Racing. They have the hook-up to a couple different linkage s for older Big Hits that allow you to run a 9.0 x 3.0 shock that will up the travel to 9". Click on the pics to get more info.

Good luck.

Beaudry BigHit Linkage 9" Upgrade kit:

Stapleton BigHit Linkage 9" Upgrade kit:

Jun 2003

Yes and no.

Yes, you must use a shock the same size. BETD does make a linkage to increase your travel, if you want.