Upgrading from RST- Mtbr.com

Jul 2006

Upgrading from RST

I am wanting to put better shocks on than this. Im a beginner but have a knack to hit some serious trails, what is a good adjustable shock for me to put on my trek 3700? Air? Oil? Air/Oil? Spring? So complicated. Help.

Jun 2006
    I was in your situation a year ago. And I went marzocchi coil/air Mx comp eta.

Marz mx comp eta is a simple inexspensive, very reliable 4" fork that can take some punishment. If you are new and not sure what to get, a $200 marzochhi is tough to go wrong with. I loved mine until I upgraded to a 6" travel frame, now my roomate loves it on his 4" fsr.

mx comp is a hybrid air/coil with eta to help on climbs (this allows you to compress the fork and leave it down to give you a better head angle to climb with, it is VERY easy to use).

the 05 models can be found for under 200, so its not a huge investment. You will not feel limited by this fork unless you plan to hit big drops and jumps, at which point you'll probably be looking for a whole new bike.

other forks brands will cost you much more for equal performance, and you probably shouldn't throw mega bucks around if you are new and not quite sure what you want.

Jul 2006
    Thank you for the feedback, is this an adjustable shock? What is eta?

Freshly Fujified

Need more info

Give us more info, please. Your weight? What are "serious trails?" How technical are they? What type of terrain and obstacles? Are you doing drops? if so how big? What sort of adjustability and why?