Suspension bearing maintenance- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Suspension bearing maintenance

I have an iron horse azure (dw link) I have been riding once a week for about two years. What do I need to do for bearing maintenance? I do not get any creaking and the suspension appears to move through the travel with little effort with the shock removed. Do I just re grease the bearings or do I need to replace the bearings. Enduro sells a suspension pivot kit. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by wraydp View Post
    I have an iron horse azure (dw link) I have been riding once a week for about two years. What do I need to do for bearing maintenance? I do not get any creaking and the suspension appears to move through the travel with little effort with the shock removed. Do I just re grease the bearings or do I need to replace the bearings. Enduro sells a suspension pivot kit. Thanks.
    I always pop the dust seals and lube bearings. It would be a good idea to tear down your suspension and inspect the bearings. Roll them by hand and if they feel gritty, notchy etc. I'd replace. If they feel smooth pack them tight w/ grease. They can be packed tight because the range of motion is so small. Factory roller bearing are minimally lubed to lessen rotational resistance.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    I broke the bike down and the bearings did feel notchy, so I ordered new ones. They almost felt like there was grit in the bearings. I have removed the old bearings from the frame and after removal the bearings feel very smooth. I also removed the seals and no rust was found. These are the original bearings from the bike which is a few years old but only has approximately 1000 miles on it. Why would the bearings feel notch in the bike but brand new after they have been removed? Just curious as I am replacing them anyways. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008