Star Nut Alternative- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Star Nut Alternative

Has anyone used a stemlock and/or headlock instead of a star nut? If so how did it compare?

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    I have been using Hope Head Doctor on my two bikes since about 3 years with no problems what so ever. It is very easy to install.

http://www.hopegb.com/voir_HDOC.html

There are quite a lot of similar designs by many other companies.

As for the stemlock you mentioned - I think it is totally overkill for the task. The job of the starnut/expander plug/stemlock is to preload the bearings, not hold the stem in place.

Hope this helps,
    Stefan

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I've been using the headlock for over 3 years now. I'm happy with it.

mtbr member
    What problem does that solves? The description makes it sound like the crown race just needs to be set properly...

aka greyranger
    Another vote for headlock.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by agabriel
    What problem does that solves? The description makes it sound like the crown race just needs to be set properly...

Thanks everyone for the input - I will probably try one of these systems.

agabriel - it solves the problem of not having to reinstall a starnut when changing forks. This is something that probably should be done by a shop so it can be properly seated but with this 'through stem' type system its pretty easy for anyone to just tighten up the bolt to hold the fork in place.

mtbr member
    Not quite sure what you're trying to achive.get away from not using a star nut The HOPE HEad doctor is about 4-5 times heavier than a standard star nut, so if it's a weight thing that is going the opposite way. If you're not fussed on having a top cap, then just simply use a threaded rod with washers and nuts to adjust the pre-load on the headset and then remove one the stem is all tightened up.
    Quote Originally Posted by Harold