Need help with possible stiction on 2013 RS Lyrik- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Need help with possible stiction on 2013 RS Lyrik

Hey all, I've been riding on a 2013 Lyrik for about 4 months now and feel like the fork is decent, but meh, it could be better. It just doesn't feel as plush as I think it could be or what I've seen in others. I am no suspension expert by any means, but I do have a good general knowledge from reading a lot of the threads here, tutorials elsewhere, and just my testing and notes from riding.

I've tried many things to get the fork to feel how I want it but to no avail. Something finally occurred to me the other day that should have registered with me as possibly being a problem and it has been like this on my fork since day one. The tubes of my lowers are so close together that my front wheel won't fit. I've used this wheel on a RS Revelation and a Fox Float. The wheel always just slipped right in and I've tightened down the thru axle. No problems. The Lyrik is different. It is difficult for me to install my front wheel. I have to physically pull the lowers apart 3-4mm in order for my wheel to fit in. I started to wonder if this could be causing excessive amounts of uneven wear on the bushings since maybe the lowers and uppers are not lining up perfectly. Is this supposed to be how Lyriks are?

I apologize if this is a dumb question. I've never read anything about this with other Lyrik owners. I wouldn't think it is a hub problem since my hub fit just fine in my other RS fork using the same endcaps (20mm). Anyone have a good explanation?

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    "I have to physically pull the lowers apart 3-4mm in order for my wheel to fit in" You answered your own question. You could verify this by trying your wheel in other forks and other wheels in the Lyrik. Time to call RS then visit your LBS.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by keen View Post
    Time to call RS then visit your LBS.