Help me understand my monarch RT3 rebound shim stack.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Help me understand my monarch RT3 rebound shim stack.

I'm still learning about shock shimming. I think I mostly understand single stacks for forks and I can get them doing what I want. On the shock side, still a little in the dark.

So I have a ML tune RT3 monarch with the debonair can.

On the rebound piston face, it has a preloaded stack. I get that. Then it has a spacer stack that seems excessive, then another preloaded stack with a plate with cutouts.

I dont understand how the top cutout plate and second shimstack come into play. Im guessing its a higher speed stack, but it appears fluid would have to push through the shimstack on the face plate, then go around the spacer stack through the center and come out the top? Not sure whats happening on the second stack or how approach even tuning this thing.

I know what I like in compression. I basically just minimize preload on the stack, eliminate the lockout, and it magically works 10x better than stock. I can do coarse tuning from there to get LSC in check. I think I need to do the same for the rebound stack, but with 2 circuits and the weird plate on top I'm not visualizing how to attack this thing!

The shock feels like it relies heavily on the needle freebleed, and chokes bad when closed. Tons of HSR, minimal LSR. I believe this is what RS is calling "rapid recovery" which feels like uncontrolled movement to me.

Id appreciate any tips on tuning strategies for a shock circuit! For now, I removed the preload ring on the lower stack that touches the rebound piston face, so its just a basic 3 shim stack with no preload at all.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006