Fox shocks only last 2 years?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2009

Fox shocks only last 2 years?

I was on the phone with the Ellsworth guys today and asked about a new rear shock recommendation. They strongly suggested I buy one from them pre-set for my Truth. I have an 07 Float RL that needs servicing so I entertained just buying a new RP23. what got me was that the dude told me a rear shock is done in 2 years pending riding activity. Really? I'm better off buying theirs?

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    I call BS as I rebuild shocks for a living and know that is BS

TNC
    noMAD man
    You used the term, "2 years pending riding activity". I read that as saying that 2 years is about the normal service time for a shock based on how much it gets ridden. For a serious bike guy to say that, he's probably basing it on how much he rides...which might be a lot...and 2 years might be a good rule of thumb. In reality a shock can be shot in less than a year or last for many years. Many variables can come into play to dicatate shock life. He probably shouldn't have made any statement about shock life, but it may not be based on a dark motive.

Elitest thrill junkie
    Quote Originally Posted by ALEV8
    I was on the phone with the Ellsworth guys today and asked about a new rear shock recommendation. They strongly suggested I buy one from them pre-set for my Truth. I have an 07 Float RL that needs servicing so I entertained just buying a new RP23. what got me was that the dude told me a rear shock is done in 2 years pending riding activity. Really? I'm better off buying theirs?