Fork Tube 30 32 35- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Fork Tube 30 32 35

I am pretty new at this sport. I bought a hardtail 29 last fall, and this winter I am building a carbon frame bike with 120 front and 110 rear travel. I bought a Rockshox Judy Gold fork a few months ago because it is light and low cost. Have not been able to test since it is winter, so now I am wondering if I made the right choice. I am an older guy, 6'-2 and weight 250. I plan on riding trails and hitting some jumps at Timberline (ski lift, Oregon) and Whistler (lift) with this new bike.
    The Judy fork has 30 mm aluminum tubes, so it is light, but is it strong? With my 250 lbs, should I buy a Reba with 32mm legs, or a Rockshox 35? The big tube forks weigh more (?) and the top of the line forks use 35 mm tubes. Is it worth adding the weight of a 32 or 35 to the bike, and having a stronger front end that will absorb hits and be more stable for braking. Will I notice the difference?

mtbr member
    As you understand, bigger stanchion diameter equals more stiffness. Combine this with wheelsize, amount of travel and rider weight and you can guesstimate how stiff or flexy the fork would be. Steerer tube shape (tapered or straight 1 1/8) and whether it has a thru axle or qr skewer also plays an important part.

At your weight and the use you mention I would suggest something with no less than 35mm stanchions, tapered steerer and with a thru axle. You may need to change the front hub as well if the current one is made for 9mm QR. However if you're going to upgrade, might as well avoid the entry level stuff like the Rockshox 35 and go straight to a better fork like a Pike or similar offering from other brands. Yes, it will be more expensive, but it's a step you're going to take anyway later when your riding progresses. So better do it in one move instead of two, comes out cheaper in the long run.

The Judy is certainly not made with bikepark jumping in mind.