Does body weight affect the quality of fork you need?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Does body weight affect the quality of fork you need?

I'm new to the MTB scene and I'm just doing some minor upgrades to an older mongoose MTB till I get a new one next year. However, I'm only 120lbs, so I figure I wouldn't need an expensive suspension fork. Maybe just a decent RockShox. On my current bike, the suspension is good, even though its not name brand(Element). So i'm assuming if you're a light weight person, you shouldn't need "the best" parts in regards to suspension?

mtbr member

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Lighter riders may not need as stiff/strong fork chassis, but the damper/spring quality is at least as important as for heavier riders. Tunability matters the most for riders out of the average weight range.

In your example, a Rock Shox Reba dual-air fork might be a good choice, but a cheap RS "TK" model might not be much better than a rigid fork.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009

Does body weight affect the quality of fork you need?

Quote Originally Posted by CF3esbestia View Post
    I'm new to the MTB scene and I'm just doing some minor upgrades to an older mongoose MTB till I get a new one next year. However, I'm only 120lbs, so I figure I wouldn't need an expensive suspension fork. Maybe just a decent RockShox. On my current bike, the suspension is good, even though its not name brand(Element). So i'm assuming if you're a light weight person, you shouldn't need "the best" parts in regards to suspension?
    The opposite argument can be made easily. Light riders, and I am one of them, need the best suspension for a number of reasons: stiction, tune-ability, and stiffness.