66rc2x has me stunped???- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2004

66rc2x has me stumped??

Ok, so I've been riding this fork for about two months and have about 9 Whistler days on it so far (lots of riding) and I can't seem to find the "sweet" spot on this fork's settings. I really played with it this weekend and it still seems to have sticky seals at the top of it's travel. It has loosened up quite abit but it should be butter by now. I had it feeling nice with with barely any air in the caps but it dove too much and used it's travel too eagerly. So I put in 2 more pumps of air and it's got the proper sag, but the plushness (pillowy) effect is lost more or less. I made some headway by leaving the bottom compression knob 1 turn in and the top compression about 3 turns in, but it still isn't "there". I took it off the Clownshoes drop (10 footer) and it blasted through it's travel without alot of control on the hit. I weigh 220 and ride hard and fast. I know there is a sweet spot with this fork, but I can't seem to find the setting for the whole mountain. Plush as hell but able to suck up the hard hits is my goal.
    I'm going to change the oil and hope that opens it up. The seals are still so damn sticky though. Has me worried. Don't get me wrong. The fork is really nice, but I know it can be nicer. Anyone feeling the same way?
    Last edited by Largextracheese; 07-05-2006 at 11:26 PM. Reason: misspelled

not so super...
    If it doesn't loosen up for you call Zocchi.
    Nothing to see here.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Adjust oil height!

As much as I hate sounding like Jayem, what you're describing sounds like
    there isn't enough oil in the legs.

More oil (smaller oil height) = more progressive travel
    Less oil (larger oil height) = more linear travel

More specific information should be in your manual. If not, google it.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

hmm..