2018 Fox Factory 36 setup and issues- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

2018 Fox Factory 36 setup and issues

I'm new to Fox forks - last bike had a Pike 150 mm.
    I have a 2108 36 rc2 160mm on my 2018 Spec Enduro.
    I have about 8 rides on the bike and most of these have been trying to setup my suspension.

I weigh ~ 165 geared up.

I've tried several combinations of LS, HS, Reb, Volume spacers and PSI settings.
    My main issue is in high speed, rough downhills. I can hardly hold onto the bars the suspension is just hammering me. It should be so much calmer and smoother descending these tails at speed!

On the Stumpy running the Pike it's much more controllable / calm.
    I started with 2 - 10 mm volume spacers and now I have zero spacers and the fork still seems to ramp up too hard on the last 40 - 50 mm of the stroke. I think I've only gotten about 130 mm of travel out of the fork to date. It feels like it has 4 volume spacers in it.

I read a lot of the 2016 harsh Fox 36 thread but there is so many issues and solutions discussed that I'm a bit confused if the 2018 has the same issues?

One thing I've read is the negative air pressure and a zip tie " solution ". This does sound like it may be the issue I've been fighting of not getting full travel and the fork ramping really hard the second half of the travel. Thoughts??

There seems to be a few companies that have bolt on help for different problems. Do any of them have a long term solution to a negative air build up - IF THATS WHAT I HAVE?

Anyone experience this problem?

Anyone know whats going on with this fork?

I would love to see what you guys are running for a setup as well.

My current setup is
    Ride weight 165 lbs

60 psi
    ~ 30 mm sag
    0 volume spacers
    8 out on Reb.
    HS Comp. from wide open to closed down 5 clicks
    LS Comp. from open to 5 closed

Thanks
    Dan
    Last edited by dp400; 01-08-2018 at 11:24 PM.

mtbr member