2010 Fox RP23 w/Boost Valve Worth the $ over 09?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

2010 Fox RP23 w/Boost Valve Worth the $ over 09?

I am upgrading my 07 Stumpy with an RP23 7.785x2.0. So my question is it it worth the extra $100-125 to get a 2010 with the Boost Valve or should I save that money and go with a discounted 09 model? What exactly is Boost Valve and how does it improve the shock over the normal propedal? I looked on their website but just couldn't quite understand what it does. I am no expert in shocks and terminology so I'm sure thats why. I guess I need layman's terms.
    If you ever see a turtle on a telephone pole, remember he had help getting there. Is there anything beer can't do?

mtbr member
    Using a DHX 5 air and coil which have boost valve, and having ridden Floats as well, i say save the money and get the float with the boost valve.

The boost valve allows you to tune the progressiveness of the shock, more air in the boost valve makes the shock more progressive, less air makes it less progressive. If you plan to use the bike for AM riding with drops and a few jumps and want not, then the boost valve float will be a worthy choice

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    I'm still up in the air about the 2010 shock.
    I guess it depends on what you're looking for.
    It is very plush...but, the pedal platform feels too light to me.
    I have an 09 coming to compare....

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick_M2R
    Using a DHX 5 air and coil which have boost valve, and having ridden Floats as well, i say save the money and get the float with the boost valve.

The boost valve allows you to tune the progressiveness of the shock, more air in the boost valve makes the shock more progressive, less air makes it less progressive. If you plan to use the bike for AM riding with drops and a few jumps and want not, then the boost valve float will be a worthy choice
    What do you mean by progressiveness of the shock?