tell me about my new (used) Heckler- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

tell me about my new (used) Heckler

Just scored this off eBay. Bike was exactly as described but the shop that packed it did a poor job--didn't even put anything in the fork to protect it! Only obvious issue is that the front rotor needs to be trued up so I will take it to a shop. I used to work as a shop wrench but am a total newb when it comes to full suspension and disc brakes. So anything you guys can tell me about suspension setup for this (front and rear) would be great. Also, what do you guys know about these Hayes brakes? I'm 150 pounds and I know this bike is overkill for me but I thought it would be fun. I'm in the Northwest with a ton of roots. I know I will buy tires once I figure out what to get. Also need to get the torque spec on those carbon bars. I had been considering getting a new Bantam but the truth is I'm pretty busy so I wanted to figure out how much I'd use it before going whole hog (I ride most days but mostly road--getting to the trails from where I live takes a real time commitment). Thanks for any advice.

Fox Float 130 RLC
    Fox Vanilla RC (500 x 2.30 spring)

fly on the wall
    Nov 2010
    Congrats on the new bike! Looks like a solid build with time tested parts. Take a ride and tell us about it. What have you ridden before? That thing looks bullet proof.
    ~Always avoid alliteration.

Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/NearlyFr...ew=0&flow=grid

Ride On
    ^^This^^ Give er a go and let us know! Congrats, it looks like it hasn't been ridden nearly enough!

mtbr member
    Thanks guys. Yeah, it's in great shape and has a great parts spec and I love the classic Heckler lines. Gotta sort out the front brake rotor and get new tires before I do much riding. Hopefully this week.

Ride On
    Right on. Make sure your pivot able and pinch bolts are properly installed. Call SC for instruction they are very helpful.

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

mtbr member