After 18 months and 2 frames - back on the tallboy (sizing and fork travel thoughts)- Mtbr.com
    11 is one louder than 10

After 18 months and 2 frames - back on the tallboy (sizing and fork travel thoughts)

Back when the Tallboy was announced I ordered one. So, I had one of the first ones in the country, an orange medium frame. After a few rides I declared it the best bike I had ever owned. My 2nd 29er after literally dozens of frames since the early 80's.

I sold it after the 2010 season. I had it crack in two spots (seat tube and down at one of the tabs for the rear end). Santa Cruz was awesome about the warranty though and I can't say enough about that. A HUGE advantage for SC in my opinion is that I can deal directly with them on warranty and support issues. Fox is the same way. I worked in a shop for years, do my own work etc. I hate having to be at the mercy of my dealer if I can avoid it.

So, I bought an Ellsworth Evolve, my first Ellsworth in over a decade. Tony E had burned me like many but I heard things were better. Loved the front end and suspension action but sold the frame after 3 rides as it didn't fit quite right and the rear end was a flexy noodle.

Ordered a Ventana El Rey in Feb of last year, I finally got it in August. The bike was very nice. Typical Ventana, great build quality, stiff as heck rear end etc. A great bike, honestly the El Rey is very, very nice.

But after a few rides I still missed the Tallboy.

So sold off the El Rey at a big loss to order up a new tallboy. Arrived this week. I did go bigger on the frame size this time with a large. I had to run a 100mm stem and a layback post on the medium and my brother has a large and I always preferred his fit. I am barely 5'10" but absolutely have found I preferred the large with a 90mm stem and straight post.