Salsa Bucksaw opinions?- Mtbr.com
    Crash Test Dummy

Salsa Bucksaw opinions?

After riding a fully rigid fat bike and really loving the way it tamed the trails with its huge tires my searches led me to a full suspension fat bike. Namely the Bucksaw.

I'm recently getting back into the sport after a knee injury and have been riding an older Trek Liquid 20 while seeing what my limits are. So far so good and my confidence is returning quickly on the trails and I'm tackling more and more of what I used to. I'm now at the point where I'm shopping for a new bike. I have about a $5k budget for a new set of wheels and the Salsa Bucksaw is on my radar as possible options.

Anyone have one of these or have experience on one? How well do they descend and climb?

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Love mine and ride it 90% of the time over my Salsa Horsethief 29er. I think climbing is a bit slower with the added weight, but I'm in it for the exercise and I'm no pro. Outside that it helps cut the edges off the harshness of the ride. At 6'2", 200 lbs and a bad back, I have an extra token in the front fork and the pressure set to 100 psi and med rebound. Rear is set to 145 psi and medium rebound. Tires inflated to 8 psi.

Great grip which helps all the time, and it lets me bomb through rock gardens, choose questionable lines, and go really fast through the downhill switchbacks. I do recommend lighter, faster tires over the stock tires and going tubeless. In the fall I will go back to the Nates.

I'd get one all over again for sure.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    '16 Bucksaw Carbon X01

Crash Test Dummy
    Thanks for the reply. 8 PSI? You can go that low on fat tires? I'm a bigger rider myself at 5'10" 210lbs. I don't really mind a heavier bike either as I'm not really a racer. I'm in it for fun and keeping fit. How does the bike feel while cornering and have you taken any jumps with it?