El Mariachi - worth the price?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

El Mariachi - worth the price?

So I'm new to steel framed bikes. I think the last one I had was a Redline bmx cromoly bike.

But I've ridden a recent All Mountain HT steel framed bike in SoCal and loved it. But it's sort of a slack bike for my needs in the PNW tight and twisty trails.

But I'm curious about the El Mariachi. I'm thinking the steel frame and the 29 wheels may be just enough to offset a full rigid bike. It would give me enough of a challenge to ride the trails and dance with the bike. I appreciate the 1x9 drivetrain since we do have some big hills on a lot of our trails.

But what am I paying for? $1700 is a lot of greenbacks for a HT w/o a suspension fork. Can someone educate me on why this is a great deal?

I currently ride a Cannondale Rush 4 I got this spring (been riding a '96 Stumpjumper over the winter) And unless I'm riding with the LBS guys, I'm actually bored riding my Rush with my friends that don't ride as regularly. But I will not go back to a rim brake setup.

Looking for a HT to have some fun with.

poser Administrator
    I love mine as a rigid bike. The steel is compliant and the fork is quite amazing for a rigid fork. The 29er wheels really smooth out the ride and steel helps IMO. I wouldn't say that it replaces suspension but it is better than a 26er rigid.

Whether it is better on tight and twisty will only be something you can determine. I would suggest borrowing a 29er to try out on your local trails if you can. Check your local forum here for a loaner. Try before you buy.
    MTBR Posting Guidelines
    calories>electrons

808+909 = Party Good Time
    Not a thread hijack but if you are curious about rigid 29ers there are plenty of threads offering even cheaper models to get started on in the 29er forum.

That said, the El Mariachi is a beautiful bike, can't go wrong with it.

mtbr member
    So what does a typical Mariachi weigh?