'04 Scandium Salsa Caballero- Mtbr.com

Mar 2004

'04 Scandium Salsa Caballero

Hey all, I'm looking for a little advice regarding the next frame I'm going to purchase.

Scenario:

I've been racing on my custom nrs2 for the last 3 years and have decided midway through my first sport season that I would like to go lighter (and that I just want a new frame....) for next season and was considering the 5.2 pnd Caballero. I realize that I'll need to make other upgrades to significantly drop weight, but my problem is that I can't decided on what frame to purchase and have not been able to find reviews detailing the Cabs ride, especially in comparison to the nrs. I've pretty much eliminated all the very high end fs xc race frames (Racer X, Spider etc, fuel oclv) due to budget considerations. Any thoughts on the Cab vs the nrs would be great or just comments on the Cabs ride would be helpful as well.

Oh and I still haven't completely nixed the idea of going hardtail, so if you are pro ht and would like to convince me how fast I could possibly be by dropping roughly 2 pds right off the bat, be my guest.

Thanks a ton,

B

inner peace to make peace

2004 Motobecane Fly Team Mountain Bike

foget the fs xc bikes for serious xc racing (xc fs are great for relaxed trail riders)!
    buy this: 2004 Motobecane Fly Team Mountain Bike $1595 (no tax or shipping) - it's 21# for 18" frame bike. or just the frame and sid fork for $599.

after you get this super light hardtail: 2004 Motobecane Fly Team Mountain Bike, swap to the high volume 2.1+ fat tires with real knobbie for better traction (like the 2.1 irc claw comp "lite" or one of them WTBs).

at the Billy Cross xc race at Lake Sonoma, NorCA, this past weekend
    among the fastest seven riders, 1st six were on hardtails.
    Even on the reputed "rough and technical" Skyline xc race, in Nappa, most of the top ten were on hardtails, last year.

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...e_fly_team.htm

mtbr member
    Jan 2004