Post-graduation/pre-job trip - advice?- Mtbr.com
    Wolf nipple chips

Post-graduation/pre-job trip - advice?

So I'm in my final semester of college right now. I feel the pressure to get a job as soon as i can, in order to become more self-sufficient and start to aquire some salary, wealth, and all that fun stuff. However, in a late night conversation with 3 of my roommates, i realized that now (post graduation) is the time to go riding as much as i can in as many places as financially possible before getting tied down to a job, or even a career. Every break from school, (winter and summer break) I attempt to plan out a bike trip out to Colorado or Utah or whatever. (i live in Missouri, btw.) But it rarely happens, and even when they have happened, it hasn't ever been more than a week. It's just enough to plant the bug which draws me to go riding out there, but not nearly enough time to allow me to ride a sufficient amount.

That being said, I want to spend enough time going around the Rockies hitting up sweet places to ride. How much time? However long it takes. i'm thinking at least two weeks. I definitely want to hit up places like Moab, fruita, Gooseberry Mesa (St. George?), maybe even Crested Butte, Sedona, and maybe Phoenix. Those are just some ideas for now. Any other places that should be on my "must ride" list?

An issue I have is whether or not it is a good idea to go alone, as i may not have either of my two riding buddies to go with for this one. Has anyone gone on an extended trip alone? what should i take into account to stay safe? what things can i expect when looking for people to ride with at local shops?

Also, how are some ways to cut down on some costs? Any other suggestions on how to do this effectively?

Single Speed Junkie

Congrats.

Glad to hear that you made through college. So do you have a job lined up? If so pick a start date and join the real world.

Now for the fun stuff.