Considering commuting but have safety questions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Considering commuting but have safety questions

HI all I am a newbie to MTBing and I am also considering commuting to and from work. As you all can imagine I have several safety issues I am thinking about. What do you commuters do to stay safe out there? Is it just bright colored clothes? Do yall run your lights (headlights/tailights) day as well as nights? What about those reflective vest I see? Any help would be great, thanks in advance

Aug 2006
    Dont put any trust into other peoples turn signales. Either they dont use em or they do but dont actually turn.

But ofcourse it never hurts to signal your own turns.........

Aug 2006
    I dont commute, but where I live there are alot of bikers on the streets.. I know I see them them better with lights on and anything that reflects. Use a head and tail light, and the brighter the better, so hopefully drivers can see you from a greater distance. Just my .02 .

mtbr member
    May 2006
    90% of your safety is choosing your route, and learnign and mitgating the dangers.

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffscott
    90% of your safety is choosing your route, and learnign and mitgating the dangers.
    Well as for my route it is mainly off major roads and use of multi use trails. I have several options but there are only a few sections that I will need to be on major roads for maybe 50 yards total. Looking for added safety/insurance.Please inform me on the other dangers

mtbr member
    May 2006
    A good friend of mine said look in the mirror you're the biggest problem.

When you do it every day, you need to pay attention, every day. Its an attitude.

My wife is auditing my spelling. is that okay. **** you to

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by ScubaLuke