mtbr member

wheres the cold weather love

i am a noob the mtb so i dont know what the winter season holds for the sport since this is my first one as a mtber (i started in september) but i have read many post about winter riding and seen pic of riders riding in the snow here on mtbr but i went on my first ride in the cold and snow last week and i fell in love and have gone almost everyday since, but the only tracks on the trail are mine and those of my friend that rides with me. the temp has been around 25-30 and there has only been about 5in-7in of snow fall since christmas so the conditions havent been horrible. i guess my question is those that have the passion (or stupidity which ever you call it) the minority of the sport. if so i dont see why cuz the snow makes the trail a whole different animal its like riding a familar trail for the first time again i love it

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Don't know where you live but here in PA there's lots of guys who'll ride in winter at any temp. With the right layering riding bare frozen trails or those with a little snow represents some of the best riding there is. Only problem here is just how much snow's hit the Northeast since Christmas - haven't been able to ride more than a few days in the last month.

mtbr member
    I picked up my new bike lastnight, and took it out this morning. 30 degrees and about 4-5" of snow. Very fun, but very tiring because i have not ridden a pedal bike in years until this morning.

Bro
    Content from my avatar
    Today was the first time the high temperature was below 70F in about a week and a half. It generally doesn't even hit 70 during the summer. And yes, I'm in the northern hemisphere.

I wouldn't know cold weather riding if I was doing it.
    Sometimes, I question the value of my content.

mtbr member