otbmbc.com
    Dec 2004

Afraid to Lose the Passion

Well I've been riding seriously for a little over a year now. I'm 34 and I've had mountain bikes in the past but never rode them as much as I have during this year (8 hours a week approx.). The "passion" has been in the forefront of my life this year. I read most of the mags religiously. I frequent this board daily. I night ride twice a week and ride both Saturday and Sunday 2 to 4 hours each. I buy bike gear and stuff from the net constantly. I visit bike shops weekly just to browse. I constantly think about tweaking my bike or the next ride coming up.

OK, to the point. I just started thinking, "when will this all go away?" I am afraid that one day I will not "feel like" getting up in the morning to ride. (Before I started riding, I was one LAZY dude! )

I want to ride into the twighlight of my life but I know that's not realistic. I want to ride well into my 50's and maybe beyond. I know plenty of people who have been riding for at least two decades and I applaude them. How do they do it? Will I be able to?

Whats going to be the catalyst that ceases my ride? An accident? A tragedy? Will I just not want to ride anymore? Will it ever get boring?

Do you guys/gals ever feel like this? Did you ever almost lose the passion? Have you ever lost the passion? Are you on the cusp of losing the passion?

Sorry for the long rant. I know I should just shut up and ride... and I will! But can you really tell this is bothering me?

You're there. Live in the moment. Quit thinking.

mtbr dismember

Newsflash!

Quote Originally Posted by SabbathU71
    ...I want to ride well into my 50's and maybe beyond...
    Newsflash! You are also going to die someday. So if you insist on worrying about something then how about that? Shut up and just ride. And I didn't start riding until I was 50.

Perfecting my endos...
    Sep 2005