lung issues in colder air- Mtbr.com
    see me rollin, they hatin

lung issues in colder air

i feel like such a weenie, but when the temp drops below 45F, i feel like i start wheezing and it can get painful during rides. i do us a balaclava sometimes, but then i feel a little bit suffocated.

anyway, i had an "episode" today where my breathing took on a high pitched squeal and i felt my windpipe closing up. i had to curl up on the side of the trail, crying, panicking, it was just awful!!! yes, i know panicking is the worst thing you can do, but i was damn scared.

i've never had asthma as a kid, and i dont know if its true asthma, or just a cold weather thing. nobdoy else in my group is as bad as me. So, is it asthma? its a rare occurrence, so i dont know if its something i should get an inhaler for.

thanks bubbas.

AZ
    banned
    I doubt its asthma but I'm not a doctor. I do get the same thing sometimes, although its usually at colder temps. Seems the airways contract with the intake of frigid air, a balaclava seems to help me largely avoid it, though it does take some getting used too.

mtbr member
    My daughter gets "exercise induced" asthma. More in colder air.
    It can be scary and become a true medical emergency quickly. A sugar or caffeine blast can help in a pinch.
    Would be worth a deductable to talk to your dr about.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    I have the same issues my doctor said its called Bronchial Spasms, and is a form of Exercise Induced Asthma(EIA). They can come on in numerous different forms, and there are a ton of different triggers for them. Mine happens to be cold air hitting my lungs, and making it harder for me to breath. An inhaler usually helps me, but I have found that the more you ride in the cold, the better I have become at managing my breathing, and the cold seems to affect me less these days.

see me rollin, they hatin