mtbr member

Ibuprofen or acetaminophen

Which is better to use during rides? Ibuprofen or acetaminophen

I smacked my shoulder pretty hard last week on 8/18 and have been riding through the pain using ibuprofen & acetaminophen. It hurts to lift my arm or when taking it off the bars.

I am staying off the bike for the next few days and doing some self massage w/ tiger balm and traumeel but have a big ride to do this Sunday.

Any other suggestions?

thanks

EDR
    Is it your rotator cuff? I only ask b/c I hurt mine early in the year and it took months to get better. I could hardly wash my hair with that arm for a while. Still hurts when I sleep with my arm under my pillow.

Anyway lots of Ibuprofen was recommended. Need to get the swelling down so it can heal.

I'm no doctor, this post just caught my eye.

mtbr member
    During my last enduro race, the Leadville 100, the race doctors said do _not_ take Ibuprofen during the race as there have been recent cases of sudden kidney failure in perfectly healthy people which seems to be linked to Ibuprofen. Ibuprofen is okay the night after a hard workout just not during the hard workout.

I don't know any difference, but based on this I won't be taking Ibuprofen while working out.

EDR
    That's interesting.

I used to take Advil (during or before matches) often when I played racquetball and competed at the national level. It worked so much better than aspirin for relieving that 'dead arm' feeling after 3 solid days of competition.

Of course at that time Advil was new to the market.......and I was 12, 13, 14 years old and couldn't have cared less about my kidneys, lol.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by herothedog