High blood pressure but I'm in my 20's?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2014

High blood pressure but I'm in my 20's?

I went to see a doctor today about an ear infection and when they took my blood pressure, the assistant made a remark about how high it was. Sure enough, it was 165/65. She asked if it was always this high, and I said that I didn't think so and that was that.

Truth is, I'm 24 years old and haven't really been to a doctor since I was 18 and getting a physical. I tend to think that I'm a very fit person and ride my bikes every weekend. I single speed, ride centuries, like to do 8000+ vertical rides, etc. I played football for 10 years until I graduated high school. Blood pressure has never been something I've remotely thought about.

I'm inclined to not read much into this but thought maybe someone on here would have some insight...

Thanks.

Co Springs
    Get a meter, self check at home to establish trends or patterns . It's often a snapshot. Not necessarily all the time thing. Keep notes like a log , check at various times of day or night, a few times a week.
    Family history or in your genes? That could speak to it being worthy of keeping a log. Labcoat bp is caused by a slightly elevated excitement of going to the Dr ofc. If somebody cut you off in traffic on the way there, it easily could have caused a temporary jump.
    bachman must spread some Reputation around before giving it to himself again. :madman:

mtbr member
    Agreed. I was on the edge and my doctor urged me to buy a BP cuff on Amazon for $35. They checked the cuff for accuracy at the doctor office by getting two readings on the machine and two simultaneous reading by hand. The amazon cuff is very accurate.

I check everyday and my BP certainly varies.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Oct 2018