Excruciating hand pain after week long trip- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2009

Excruciating hand pain after week long trip

About 3 weeks ago, we went on a week long biking trip up through west NC.

The last two days were spent at Beech mountain, where I did about a day and a half worth of runs on the lift assisted DH park there. This was my first time there and I'm a novice, probably more beginner given that of the 7 months I've been riding, 5 1/2 were in a pretty weak area of FL.

Anyway, after riding the park, my left hand hurt really bad, as if it was sore, but with a little more pain. I didn't think much of it, rode the next day, then came home. Being my first day at a park, I assumed that I had a death grip on the bars (I did), which was causing the pain in my left hand (no clue why right didn't have it).

Over the course of the next few weeks (I ride ~5 times a week), the pain seemed to get worse. Now, if I grip anything tightly or even close my hands in a certain way, I get a shooting pain in my hand. At times, it's lasted a minute or so before going away and been so painful I couldn't do anything else. I feel it sometimes doing rather benign activities (e.g. washing my hands, squeezing tires to sense pressure, tightly gripping fruit).

The pain seems to only exist when my hands are gripped a certain way, very close together.

Any advice on what this could be?

I realize going to a doc is the best option and I would, except that my insurance expired today and doesn't pick back up for a month. I can still go, but I'll have to sign up for COBRA which is $$$$.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    You didn't mention it was associated with crashing at all, so that rules out a lot of things. I'm wondering if its carpal tunnel related? But best to see a doctor as you say.

When you ride your bike next, make sure the LSC is wound right down, or preferably OFF. LSC will definitely make it worse.

mtbr member
    Aug 2013