SuperD weapon of choice?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2011

SuperD weapon of choice?

Hey Pivot folk, newbie here (to forums, been riding bikes since 1976) looking to get into SuperD/Enduro, been riding DH for years and trying to decide between the Mach 5.7 and the Firebird.

I ride/live in So Cal, like to ride mostly flow, techy singletrack with an occasional DH shuttle every now and then. Also like riding places like Moab, Sedona, Downieville, Tahoe, Bootleg Canyon and Mammoth. Im not a freerider and dont much higher off the ground than 3-4 ft usually, so not into jumping or drops really, Ive occasionally hit a 6 footer but thats pretty rare where I ride.

Also little insight into my bike setup, I like to ride 1x10 and Ive heard Pivot makes an adapter for this application. I also plan to use a fork with at least a 35mm stanchion cause Im a bigger dude (6'4" @ 235lbs), Im sticking to air forks so I shimming them down for the Mach wouldnt be an issue.

Anyhow thanks for all your help and if you have any ? or if I missed any helpful info let me know. Looking forward to being a fellow Pivot owner soon!!

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    Firebird should be the choice. I have one, setup a little on the burlier side, Talas 180 fork, Sun Singletrack rims, Minions with EXO casing, wide Gravity DH bars, Reverb seatpost, Straitline pedals. I think is ~32lbs, but worth it for the downhill performance, very composed and confident ride, and still pedals up very well, just a little heavier compared to my other bike, a Mach 5. The 5 is setup as a light weight AM bike, but really is more a long travel XC bike. It takes more concentration to ride downhill, have to be more careful picking my lines. I have read that the 5.7 is a more relaxed ride, haven't ridden one yet.

Except for the weight, I think the Firebird pedals uphill just has good as the Mach 5.

Trying to be helpful