Fond of the Firebird Test Ride Review (normal guy)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Fond of the Firebird Test Ride Review (normal guy)

So this weekend my local Pivot dealer, Bicycle Johns in Santa Clarita CA set me up with a Firebird 29er demo. I wanted to take out the Trail 429 but that one was already spoken for so they gave me the opportunity to take the Firebird for 2 full days. I must say I was completely surprised. I have been riding off road for 30+ years and I would have never ridden a bike that had any hint of "downhill" in its blood. Being a former XC racer and pretty much a trail rider now, avoiding serious chunk and steep drops I expected a clunky bike with full suspension. Much to my surprise it was exactly the opposite. It climbed very well, with no pedal bob. Negatives were if I was slow climbing the front end tended to wain back and forth, I could feel the extra weight vs my current 27.5+ hardtail and if I was to buy this bike I would definitely go with the 12 speed for extra lower gears. It definitely is a bike that needs to be ridden aggressively and keep your speed up with. It takes more attention and rider input when riding single track that has switchbacks but for me it was a good thing not to be lazy anymore! The down hills were a dream, even the smooth flowy stuff was great and at 60 years old the level of safety I felt with the design, the 36 fork and suspension was very assuring. I think if I got in a trouble situation this would bail me out, in fact I over shot the trail a couple of times and it total brought me out and back on the trail.So with that said would I be crazy to consider a bike like this? I don't think I would ever push it to its limits and I was totally focused in on the 429 and its not even the price and its crazy to think I would use a bike like this for my flowy single track and my local trails. Am I crazy for even considering this?
    Last edited by vcyclist; 09-30-2019 at 02:07 PM.

Freezer