429 axle backing out- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2014

429 axle backing out

I have been riding my 2018 Mach 429 trail for several years without any issues until last week. I was riding and noticed my shifting went from good to terrible within 10 miles. I got off the bike for a quick look and saw the rear axle had started to backout. I screwed in tight and all was good.

Now I am checking the axle every 5 miles which is annoying. Any thoughts on why all of the sudden this is a issue?

Hardmix

mtbr member
    Jan 2016
    Have not had an issue over the years----is it a one time deal that who knows what caused or is it happening again ?

mtbr member
    Jan 2010
    Nor experienced it myself. However perhaps a dab of locitite will help?

Sent from my HD1900 using Tapatalk
    David '09 YETI 575 '91 GT Zaskar #2010 '97 Bully Piston '90 Klein Quantum

change is good
    Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Hardmix View Post
    I have been riding my 2018 Mach 429 trail for several years without any issues until last week. I was riding and noticed my shifting went from good to terrible within 10 miles. I got off the bike for a quick look and saw the rear axle had started to backout. I screwed in tight and all was good.

Now I am checking the axle every 5 miles which is annoying. Any thoughts on why all of the sudden this is a issue?

Hardmix
    It just happens. It also happens on my Switchblade. I check every 2-4 months riding 4-5 times a week. No biggie. Just don’t over tighten it because getting the wheel off on the trail can be difficult.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

mtbr member

Hardmix
    I switched to one of these years ago:

429 axle backing out-bk.jpg

https://www.backcountry.com/shimano-...xoCRjcQAvD_BwE

mtbr member
    May 2014