Riding near Manheim, PA- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Riding near Manheim, PA

We're looking at possibly moving to Manheim, PA (near Lancaster and Harrisburg). Can I pick some of my like-minded MTBers brains about the area?

This would be for my wife's job. We would need to be within 15 miles or so of Manheim. Any areas to check out/avoid? What's the riding like there?

Can I get within riding distance of good trails in that radius?

I am a paralegal and recent MBA grad, so I will have to live near something for me too, and I understand that Manheim is tiny. Living between there and slightly larger cities would be ideal so neither of us is stuck with a super long commute.

I have zero familiarity with PA, so any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

We were looking at Canonsburg (other side of the state) a few months ago, and I got some great advice there. We decided not to head there after more careful research.

Wife and I both ride, and prefer XC type riding, if that helps.

Thank you in advance fellow MTBers... if we wind up there I will provide beers aplenty as thanks for the tips.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Holy geez I just looked at housing there... insanely cheap!

What's the catch? Property taxes super high?

mtbr member
    Apr 2010