New rider in western PA- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New rider in western PA

Hi. My name is Jen and I am just getting into biking. I got an '08 Giant Trance X2 2 days ago and am looking to find places to ride near where I live. So, if anyone knows about any good trails north of Pittsburgh (Butler) I'd love to know. Also, If anyone else lives around here and knows about group rides (that are beginner friendly) I would be interested. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Hartwood Acres and Moraine.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    moraine is pretty nice..drive the hour into pittsburgh and ride frick park..

mtbr member
    We generally ride 4-6 times a week, usaully 2-4 of us. We ride Bavington, Frick, Hartwood, Boyce, Roaring Run and going to start riding Moraine. Although we live in Pittsburgh, many of us post rides in the "Pittsburgh Area" thread. You are more then welcome to join us and learn some trails.

Check out PORC for a local biking club.

my fun has a hurting
    we (dorc) will be starting up beginner friendly friday evening rides in frick park this week or next. check out http://dorc-pgh for more info.

The White Jeff W
    I have an interview in Pittsburgh tomorrow (Thursday). Hopefully I'll be looking yinz up soon.
    No moss...

mtbr member
    Awesome, thanks for all the info.

Does anybody know anything about Boyce Park (in Plum I guess)? My boss mentioned that people ride there and it is only 5 minutes away from where I work.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008