Near Philly, favorite trails- bike choice for each one.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Near Philly, favorite trails- bike choice for each one.

I live in Delco and alternate between Smedley Park and the Wiss. I've been to pennypack, White Clay, Nockamixon and allegrippis trails. I have a mid range hardtail that I feel is perfect for every trail I mentioned except the Wiss. I started riding the Wiss with my hardtail but have transitioned to full suspension when I'm out there.

I wanted to know how fmany guys switch bikes according to location versus how many riders have a Swiss army bike that they take everywhere and just adjust their technique. I love both bikes but enjoy the hardtail more since most of the places aren't rocky and technical.

So what's your favorite trails near Philly? Do you switch bikes by trails or stick with one bike just adapt your style?

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    I ride the same places you list and have ridden a rigid singlespeed to 6" travel full suspension bikes at the wiss. For me a 100-120mm travel full suspension bike works best there although you see everything there from cross bikes, fatbikes, SS, rigid and I have seen a couple people walking downhill bikes up stuff to rail back down. I currently have a yeti asrc and a santa cruz hightower and usually grab the yeti for the wiss or nox but usually take the hightower to sals or ralph stover.
    2021 Specialized S-works epic EVO
    2020 Specialized epic hardtail

mtbr member
    I have two bikes, a 29er HT and a FS bike. While the FS bike can be ridden anywhere, I found places like Nox, White Clay, Belmont and the Wiss were much more enjoyable on the 29er. The FS bike was better for Sals, High Rocks and Fair Hill.
    It is the Right of the People to Alter or to Abolish It.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012