Help in Philly with a Yeti 575 project- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Help in Philly with a Yeti 575 project

So, I recently acquired a 2005 Yeti 575 off CL. I was thinking of tearing the whole thing down and getting it powder coated in some old school Yeti Turquoise/Yellow combo in addition to taking care of a few upgrades. Here is my problem, I'm far from an expert bike mechanic. The obviously easy teardown/rebuild parts aren't the problem, I can handle that stuff. It's the things like the headset, BB, derailleurs that will cause me problems in regards to complete removal and proper re-installation. Just wondering if anyone has the time, tools, knowledge and desire to make a little money to help me out.

Help in Philly with a Yeti 575 project-image-05.jpg

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    Not sure where you are located in Philly, I'm in Mt. Airy (near Wiss). If you don't find someone close to you, let me know. The components that you are talking about aren't all that difficult, but you just need the proper tools for removal/reinstallation, and knowing thread direction (for pedals/bottom bracket) etc. I can show you how this stuff works too. Once you have a basic fundamental understanding of adjustment (derailluers, brakes, wheel truing, etc.) it all comes down to experience and time having a wrench in your hands...

Let me know, more than happy to help you.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jochribs View Post
    Not sure where you are located in Philly, I'm in Mt. Airy (near Wiss). If you don't find someone close to you, let me know. The components that you are talking about aren't all that difficult, but you just need the proper tools for removal/reinstallation, and knowing thread direction (for pedals/bottom bracket) etc. I can show you how this stuff works too. Once you have a basic fundamental understanding of adjustment (derailluers, brakes, wheel truing, etc.) it all comes down to experience and time having a wrench in your hands...