Eastern PA Bike Choice - What is too much travel, what is too slack? Bike recs?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2020

Eastern PA Bike Choice - What is too much travel, what is too slack? Bike recs?

Hi Everybody, first post. Please go easy on me.

I've been borrowing a 2011 s-works Epic 29er FS with 100MM front and rear and a 70.5 degree head tube angle. I've been all over and still going... So far Marsh Creek, White Clay/Middle Run, Harmony Hill, Sawmill, Bear Creek, and Brandywine. Tomorrow I am checking out the Wiss. Hope to get to Nockamixon and French Creek soon too, but still working on improving my cardio base and recovery from blood donation. It's worth noting that I grew up riding bikes and got into BMX pretty good too, I am very comfortable on the MTB in technical sections even though I am new. Still mastering some of the techniques, but comfortable and far from a complete noob. I can't borrow this bike forever and have been researching bikes for a few months now. I will mostly be riding for fun and an easy way to stay in shape, I will not be racing. That said, obviously most of these places are XC focused with a lot of up and down.

Since I can only afford one bike, I've been led that maybe I shouldn't go with 100mm travel. I personally don't have any problems with it and thought it did just fine in Bear Creek but I don't have a good comparison. Since I'm being led for more that brings me to 120mm. The options here aren't crazy plentiful, but there are some. However, the head tube angle at 120mm starts to go from 68.5-70.5 down to 66.5 on some bikes. On top of that, I'm trying to avoid proprietary parts and keeping costs and maintenance down.

Is 66.5 too slack? Is 130mm front/rear too much travel for these trails?