Camp Tuckahoe- Mtbr.com

Thread: Camp Tuckahoe

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Camp Tuckahoe

Does anyone know if you can still ride at / around camp tuckahoe? I used to ride there three or four years ago but I heard there were a lot of changes to the area recently.
    Thanks.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    seven bloody hells, it's dejavu!

Joe, i think you'd better take this one or i'll start dropping f-bombs all over again.

i gotta admit tho, i can really write when i want to.

later

mtbr member
    where's camp tuckahoooooooo

mtbr member
    May 2004

It's still there but......

I've been riding there for over 15 years (man, I'm old) and things have steadily been changing, especially recently. The area encompasses Boy Scout, private, and game land property. Of course the game land issue a few years back shrunk some of the trails that were out there, along with some posted signs on private property that some owners take quite seriously. Lately there has been aggressive enforcement of the Applachain Trail corridor (the AT runs right thru the middle of many trails there) which makes many trails difficult to ride. Stubbies is definately a no no and there are no bike signs posted on each side of the corridor where some trails cross the AT.

I even heard a story of guys doing a night hike with lights on the AT and having an AT ranger and possibly a game commission guy come running out of the woods thinking they had caught MTB riders.

Sounds fun, huh?

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Tuckahoe is a Boy Scout camp close to Dillsburg at the northen terminus of South Mountain. There is some basic boy scout trails that adjoin up with some good trails.
    See Cordorus State PArk-earlier post. For the creative: these trails can be linked the whole way to Michaux. SGL/ AT / private issues do exist.

Not sure where bighitdon's comment goes? is this a sore spot from the past? Do tell.
    I usta live on Whiskey Springs Rd. and I guess flew under the radar of any issues.